Ward Council Results for Cape Point Peninsula 2011

So that was the local elections, and I for one am glad that it is over, and I am not looking forward to the national elections. Why? It seems that a lot of our national leaders are hell bent on keeping the country in the gutter in order to service their own need for power. The country is fighting very hard to improve itself and leave a checkered past firmly there, in the past. Unfortunately the politicians seem determined to keep our focus on negative issues, increase racial tensions and incite decent.

That said, let us hope that our ward councilors have our best interests at heart for the next five years, and represent us well to the City (that is there jobs). As soon as the information is available I will be publishing the email addresses of our councilors and I encourage you to let them know what you think about local issues as it is there main purpose to keep the City aware of the citizens view point and that our interests are best served at a local level when it comes to the allocation of budgets.

So here are the winners:

Ward Sub Council Councilor Party Vote % Areas Covered
61 19 Simon Liell-Cock DA 87.49 Fish Hoek Mountainside, Kommetjie, Scarborough, Simons Town
62 20 Elizabeth Brunette DA 92.42 Constantia
64 19 David D’Alton DA 92.37 Muizenberg, Marina Da Gama, Lakeside, St James, Kalk Bay
68 19 Manormonie Ariefdien DA 85.59 Steenberg, Lavender Hill
69 19 Felicity Purchase DA 56.66 Fish Hoek through to Noordhoek
71 19 Denis Joseph DA 89.27 Tokai, West Lake, Kirstenhoff
72 18 Johannes Burger DA 86.94 Heathfield, Elfindale, Southfield
73 20 Carol Bew DA 94.66 Diep River, Meadowridge, Bergvliet
74 16 Margaretha Haywood DA 58.08 Hout Bay

As you can see, this makes the Cape Point Peninsula a DA stronghold. This is only who will be our ward councilors, there will be an equal number of Proportional Representation councilors, and how these are allocated, and who they are, will have to be seen- watch this space.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe without commenting